India’s U. R. Rao Inducted Into Satellite Hall of Fame In Washington

Former ISRO chairman U. R. Rao has been inducted into the Society of Satellite Professionals International Hall of Fame.

AsianScientist (Jan. 28, 2013) – Professor U. R. Rao, former chairman of the Indian Space and Research Organization (ISRO) and secretary of the Department of Space, has been inducted into the Hall of Fame by the Society of Satellite Professionals International (SSPI).

Since 1987, the SSPI Hall of Fame has recognized the contributions of visionaries who have transformed life for the better through satellite technology.

Members of the Hall of Fame are recognized pioneers in communications, satellite-related aerospace, scientific research, or the development and delivery of applications for business, institutions, and government via satellite.

The Society also recognizes service to the industry through education, legal, and regulatory advances and related contributions.

Prof. Rao joins over 40 past inductees such as Sir Arthur C. Clarke, Dr. James Van Allen, Dr. William Pritchard, Dr. Harold Rosen, Dr. Fredric d’Allest, Dr. Takayashi Yoshida, Dr. Peter Jackson and Dr. Olof Lundberg.

The induction of Prof. Rao into the Satellite Hall of Fame is scheduled to take place at a gala function to be held in Washington, D.C. on March 19 later this year.


Source: ISRO; Photo: kalai8_blog/Flickr/CC.
Disclaimer: This article does not necessarily reflect the views of AsianScientist or its staff.

Asian Scientist Magazine is an award-winning science and technology magazine that highlights R&D news stories from Asia to a global audience. The magazine is published by Singapore-headquartered Wildtype Media Group.

Related Stories from Asian Scientist