Nine Indian Scientists Honored At NASI-Scopus Young Scientists Awards

Nine young Indian scientists were honored last week at the 7th NASI-Scopus Young Scientist Awards.

AsianScientist (Aug. 12, 2013) – Scientific publisher Elsevier and the National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI) have awarded nine young Indian scientists at the 7th NASI-Scopus Young Scientist Awards.

The ceremony, held on August 6 at The Park Hotel, New Delhi, was attended by more than 150 guests representing India’s top scientific fraternity, including Shri S. Jaipal Reddy, Honorable Minister of Science & Technology of the Ministry of Earth Sciences India, who presented the awards.

Recognizing India’s increasing contribution to world science, Elsevier first launched the Scopus Young Scientist Awards in 2006 to honor the talent, knowledge and expertise of India’s early career researchers.

Elsevier’s collaboration with NASI began in 2009 when the award was officially institutionalized within the Indian scientific community. The award honors researchers who are building their careers in academic research and is designed to help them gain recognition of their work.

“It is a pleasure for our academy to be associated with Elsevier for the Scopus Young Scientist Awards to promote excellence and nurture creativity in science. I hope our collaboration will continue with vigor in years to come and am confident that the NASI-Elsevier Scopus Young Scientist Awards program will play its commendable role in future,” said Dr. K. Kasturirangan, President, National Academy of Sciences India.

The award attracted more than 600 applications from across the country. Applications were judged by a distinguished panel of 37 subject matter experts, who looked at: the quality and number of publications, fellowships of academies, awards and grants received, relevance of the scientific work and its outcome, and the overall presentation and discussion at the in person meeting. Special consideration was also given to novel ideas and innovations which have potential for future research and commercial application.

The nine winners, selected from nine different fields of science, are:

Dr. Mukesh Jain
Staff Scientist, National Institute of Plant Genome Research -New Delhi

Biological Sciences
Dr. Sathyanarayana Gummadi
Associate Professor, Indian Institute of Technology -Chennai

Dr. Tapas Kumar Maji
Associate Professor – Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore

Earth, Oceanographic & Environmental Sciences
Dr. Supriyo Mitra
Associate Professor, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Kolkata

Dr. Yogesh M. Joshi
Associate Professor – Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur

Dr. L Sunil Chandran
Associate Professor – Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore

Dr. Surinder Singh Rana
Assistant Professor- Post Graduate Institute of Medical education and Research, Chandigarh

Dr. Soma Veugopal Rao
Associate Professor, University of Hyderabad

Social Sciences
Dr. K Jaishankar
Senior Assistant Professor- Manonmaniam Sundaranar University, Tamil Nadu

“At Elsevier, we are very excited to be supporting and nurturing Indian research not only through our high-quality content and innovative solutions, but also through events like the Scopus Awards. Through our partnership with the National Academy of Sciences, India, we have been able to bring even more talented individuals to the award ceremony, making this experience all the more meaningful,” said Youngsuk “Y.S.” Chi, Chairman of Elsevier.


Source: Elsevier.
Disclaimer: This article does not necessarily reflect the views of AsianScientist or its staff.

Asian Scientist Magazine is an award-winning science and technology magazine that highlights R&D news stories from Asia to a global audience. The magazine is published by Singapore-headquartered Wildtype Media Group.

Related Stories from Asian Scientist