Elsevier Recognizes Young Indian Scientists

Elsevier and the National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI) announce the winners of the 2014 NASI-Scopus Young Scientist Awards.

AsianScientist (Sep. 18, 2014) – The National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI) and Elsevier, a provider of scientific, technical and medical information products and services, have announced the winners of the 2014 NASI-Scopus Young Scientist Awards.

Elsevier first launched the Scopus Young Scientist Awards in 2006. In India, the program was officially institutionalized within its scientific community through Elsevier’s collaboration with NASI in 2009. The program honors young researchers who are building their careers in academic research and helps them gain recognition of their work.

This year’s NASI-Scopus Young Scientist Awards program attracted over 600 applications from multiple research institutions across India. Applications were judged by a panel of subject experts from India’s academic community. Elsevier provided quantitative analyses using data from Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature.

Applications were judged for vision, quality and quantity of publications, nature and uniqueness of research, outcomes of research and impact on society. Special consideration was also given to novel and innovative ideas that have potential commercial applications.

The awards were presented by Dr. Jitendra Singh, Indian Minister of State for Science & Technology, during the awards ceremony in New Delhi, India.

“It is a pleasure for our academy to be associated with Elsevier on the NASI-Scopus Young Scientist awards program,” said Dr. Krishnaswamyo Kasturirangan, president of NASI. “Each year, the creativity of individual scientists is celebrated with pride, and this initiative does so by giving out awards to great young minds, across several disciplines in India. I hope the program will continue with renewed vigor and play its commendable role in the future.

Dr. Sushil Appasaheb Mujumdar, of the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, was recognized for his contributions to physics. Meanwhile, Dr. Sanjeev Das of the National Institute of Immunology won for the award for biological sciences, Dr. Rahul Banerjee of the National Chemical Laboratory for chemistry, and Dr. Partha Sarathi Chakraborty of the Institute of Mathematical Sciences for mathematics.

Dr. Neelesh B. Mehta of Indian Institute of Science was awarded the prize in the discipline of engineering, Dr. Narendran Gopalan, National Institute for Research in Tuberculosis in medicine and Dr. Vigneshwaran Nadanathangam, of the Central Institute for Research on Cotton Technology, was recognized in agriculture.

In the humanities fields, Dr. Suryendu Dutta, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay and Dr. Sanjay Kumar Singh, Indian Institute of Management Lucknow, were recognized for efforts in earth, oceanographic and environmental sciences and social sciences, respectively.


Source: Elsevier.
Disclaimer: This article does not necessarily reflect the views of AsianScientist or its staff.

Asian Scientist Magazine is an award-winning science and technology magazine that highlights R&D news stories from Asia to a global audience. The magazine is published by Singapore-headquartered Wildtype Media Group.

Related Stories from Asian Scientist