2016 President’s Science and Technology Awardees Announced

Three individuals and a team comprising four parties in Singapore have been awarded the President’s Science and Technology Awards, presented by President Tony Tan Keng Yam.

AsianScientist (Oct. 24, 2016) – Three individuals and a team comprising four parties in Singapore have been awarded the President’s Science and Technology Awards (PSTA), presented to them by president of Singapore, Dr. Tony Tan Keng Yam.

The awards are the highest honours conferred upon research scientists and engineers in Singapore, whose work have resulted in significant scientific, technological or economic benefits for the country. The PSTA comprises the President’s Science and Technology Medal, President’s Science Award, and President’s Technology Award.

Professor Bertil Andersson, president of Nanyang Technological University (NTU Singapore) and recipient of the President’s Science and Technology Medal, was chosen by a distinguished panel of representatives from industry and academia, as well as defense and research institutes. He plays a significant role in setting the national direction for research and development (R&D), and has contributed significantly to Singapore’s efforts to establish itself as a global R&D hub. As NTU President, he has led NTU to success, both in education and research.

The President’s Science Award was presented to Associate Professor Liu Xiaogang from the Department of Chemistry at the National University of Singapore (NUS) for his research on luminescent nanomaterials for the tracking of cancer cells and other bio-imaging applications.

As for the President’s Technology Award, one of the winners was Professor Liu Bin from the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, NUS. Liu was recognized for her development of organic nanomaterials for bio-medical and environmental applications.

The other winner of the Award was a team comprising of individuals from ST Electronics (Satellite Systems), DSO National Laboratories; Center for Remote Imaging, Sensing and Processing, NUS; and Satellite Research Center, NTU. The team was recognized for their design and development of Singapore’s first commercial satellite, the TeLEOS-1 Satellite. Furthermore, the team’s near-equatorial orbit, Low Earth Observation Satellite system has helped to put Singapore on the map in the global space engineering industry.

Three outstanding young individuals were also recognized with the Young Scientist Award for their achievements in research and innovation. They are Dr. Benjamin Tee, scientist at the Institute of Materials Research and Engineering, Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR); Assistant Professor Lim Xinhong, principal investigator at the Institute of Medical Biology, A*STAR; and Dr. Guo Huili, junior investigator, Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology, A*STAR.


Source: A*STAR.
Disclaimer: This article does not necessarily reflect the views of AsianScientist or its staff.

Asian Scientist Magazine is an award-winning science and technology magazine that highlights R&D news stories from Asia to a global audience. The magazine is published by Singapore-headquartered Wildtype Media Group.

Related Stories from Asian Scientist