Wang Yifang Elected Foreign Member Of Russian Academy Of Sciences

Wang Yifang, who led the Daya Bay Reactor Neutrino Experiment, has been elected as a foreign member of Russia’s highest scientific institution.

AsianScientist (Nov. 11, 2016) – Professor Wang Yifang, director of the Institute of High Energy Physics and member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, has been elected a foreign member of the Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS).

Wang was honored for his achievements in physics and collaborations with Russia’s Joint Institute for Nuclear Research, a scientific research organization in Dubna, Moscow. Only the most prominent foreign scientists recognized by the international scientific community can be elected by the RAS General Assembly to be Foreign Members of RAS.

A renowned particle physicist, Wang led the design and construction of the BESIII detector at the Beijing Electron-Positron Collider and the Daya Bay Reactor Neutrino Experiment to precisely measure the neutrino mixing angle θ13. He was previously awarded the W. K. H. Panofsky Prize, the 20th Nikkei Asia Prize, and the Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics.


Source: Chinese Academy of Sciences.
Disclaimer: This article does not necessarily reflect the views of AsianScientist or its staff.

Asian Scientist Magazine is an award-winning science and technology magazine that highlights R&D news stories from Asia to a global audience. The magazine is published by Singapore-headquartered Wildtype Media Group.

Related Stories from Asian Scientist