Two Chinese Scientists Awarded 2014 Panofsky Prize

The American Physical Society will award Chinese scientists Wang Yifang and Kam-Biu Luk the W.K.H. Panofsky Prize in April 2014.

AsianScientist (Oct. 18, 2013) – The American Physical Society (APS) will award scientists Wang Yifang and Kam-Biu Luk the 2014 W.K.H. Panofsky Prize for their achievements in Experimental Particle Physics. Wang is the first Chinese scientist to win this award.

The award recognizes Wang Yifang and Kam-Biu Luk for their leadership of the Daya Bay experiment, which produced the first definitive measurement of θ13 angle of the neutrino mixing matrix.

Wang proposed the Daya Bay neutrino oscillation experiment in China with a detailed detector design and experimental plan, to precisely measure the neutrino mixing angle theta13. The assembled a large international collaboration, and was elected as the co-spokesperson of the experiment.

The Panofsky Prize, an annual recognition of outstanding achievement in experimental particle physics, will be presented to Wang Yifang and Kam-Biu Luk at an awards ceremony at the APS meeting in Savannah in April 2014.


Source: CAS.
Disclaimer: This article does not necessarily reflect the views of AsianScientist or its staff.

Asian Scientist Magazine is an award-winning science and technology magazine that highlights R&D news stories from Asia to a global audience. The magazine is published by Singapore-headquartered Wildtype Media Group.

Related Stories from Asian Scientist