Neena Gupta

Indian Statistical Institute



The third woman and fourth Indian to receive the DST-ICTP-IMU Ramanujan Prize for young mathematicians from developing countries, Gupta was awarded for her work in affine algebraic geometry and commutative algebra. In particular, she was recognized for her solution to the Zariski cancellation problem for affine spaces—a fundamental problem in algebraic geometry that was first posed by the field’s founder Oscar Zariski in 1949. Gupta also received the Indian National Science Academy Young Scientist Award in 2014 and the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize (Mathematical Sciences) in 2019 for her breakthrough contributions.


  • DST-ICTP-IMU Ramanujan Prize

Related articles

Pfizer’s Pneumonia Vaccine Patent Challenged In India

Pfizer’s pneumonia vaccine patent has come under legal challenge in India.