UNIST Recognizes Six ‘Rising Star’ Scientists

The title ‘Rising-Star Distinguished Professor’ is awarded to eminent professors who are under the age of 45.

AsianScientist (Sep. 14, 2018) – Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology (UNIST) has recognized six of its researchers as ‘Rising-Star Distinguished Professors.’ This is the highest honor the university can bestow upon faculty members under the age of 45 whose work has made an outstanding contribution to their field or discipline and to UNIST. The title includes an honorarium for salary and research support.

Professor Bae Joonbum of the School of Mechanical, Aerospace and Nuclear Engineering was recognized for his outstanding research capabilities in the fields of physical human-robot interaction systems and bio-inspired robots.

Meanwhile, Professor Choi Jaesik, a leading expert in artificial intelligence (AI), has been recognized for his outstanding contributions to the field of time-series analysis and forecasting. Choi currently serves as director of the Explainable Artificial Intelligence Center at UNIST and carries out AI-related research projects. He is also the recipient of the POSCO Smart Innovation Award in recognition of his outstanding contribution to build AI systems to improve the prediction accuracy of hot metal temperature and blast volume in a smart blast furnace.

Other professors in the 2018 cohort of ‘Rising-star Distinguished Professors’ were Professor Baik Jeong Min for his work on triboelectric generators; Professor Ko Hyunhyub for research on transparent electrodes as wearable devices; Professor Joo Sang Hoon for developing novel fuel cell catalysts; and Professor Choi Jang Hyun for his study of treatments for obesity and diabetes.

“The dedication and accomplishments of our selected faculty members have contributed not only to the growth of UNIST, but also made outstanding contributions to the progress of science and technology,” said President Jung Mooyoung of UNIST.

UNIST has also conferred the title of ‘Distinguished Professor’ to 12 outstanding faculty members, including Professor Rodney S. Ruoff (School of Natural Science), Professor Steve Granick (School of Natural Science), Professor Myung Kyungjae Myung (School of Life Sciences), Professor Kim Kwang Soo Kim (School of Natural Science) and Professor Seok Sang Il (School of Energy and Chemical Engineering).


Source: Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology.
Disclaimer: This article does not necessarily reflect the views of AsianScientist or its staff.

Asian Scientist Magazine is an award-winning science and technology magazine that highlights R&D news stories from Asia to a global audience. The magazine is published by Singapore-headquartered Wildtype Media Group.

Related Stories from Asian Scientist